Labeling for Success? 111:365

Standard

I had an interesting conversation about word choice today during a planning meeting at school. We talked about the importance of how we refer to our kids.

When we are writing, refer to them as writers, when reading, readers. Likewise we refer to scientists, and creators. We had no idea what to call our mathematicians, that is a little more awkward to say!  Math friends I am hoping you will drop some creative responses here!

the point is this, giving them that title empowers them with an idea that they already are a writer, reader, and scientist then they only have to aim at getting better in that area. I like the idea. I have also struggled with what to call kids in my class when I speak about them as a group (I don’t care for students as a word choice, and I say kids far too often.) So, this year I will be welcoming a new group of learners into my classroom. They are all already learners, now we just have more to learn!

Leave a Reply

