What Do People Want From Their School 127:365

Standard

On either side of my home, there are teachers.  To one side, a middle school teacher in a district near by, to the other, an elementary teacher in our local district.  While talking to my neighbors at different times I have some interesting questions, at some point, perhaps I will feel comfortable asking them.

One of my neighbors asked me about my future move to administration, and talked about the opening that was filled recently in our local district.  They talked about the school and how much they like the district.  I wonder what it is that makes people like my town’s district.  We moved here in part to start a family because the town had a reputation for having “good schools,” but what makes them good?  To be honest I don’t know.

What makes people think of schools as being good?  What do most people want from their schools? How do we help the rest of the public understand what we value as education so that we are judging good schools by the same criteria?

Leave a Reply

