Why We Need #NJPAECET2 145:365

Standard

It has been almost a week since our incredible conference.  While I have gained a lot of energy and excitement from the experience, I am still blown away by a self realization made during Dr. Spike Cook’s session: Connected Leadership (by the way check out the book http://www.amazon.com/Connected-Leadership-Click-Corwin-Educators/dp/1483371689/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1411766690&sr=8-1-fkmr0&keywords=connected+leadership+is+only+a+click+away)

I realized that I was invited to this incredible conference, chosen to present two sessions, and that I had barely told anyone I work with about the whole thing.  I mentioned it to four people, only one asked what I was going to do for presentations.  The rest just ignored me as if it did not mean anything.  Because of that I said nothing else.  I was not proud, not excited (while at school) and certainly not celebrating this incredible and exciting opportunity.

Sometimes being connected can disconnect you from people around you.  Sometimes being connected makes you the outlier in your own building.  Honestly, I was probably already the outlier, but now I realize it more.  I came back excited, invigorated, and a better teacher.  We need events like these.  We need them to encourage, inspire, and ignite the power of education.  We need them to spread those pockets of greatness and work to connect more ideas.  Not everyone will be connected, as my good friend @lisguthrie reminded me, it simply is not for everyone.  So we must be the conduits for connection.  Provide the resources, build the bridges between these pockets of awesome, and push our profession.

I am grateful for this opportunity.  Even better, I am proud to say that I was a part of such an incredible event.  I now say I presented and attended the NJ/PA ECET2 Conference with the confidence that even if others don’t understand, I do.

One thought on “Why We Need #NJPAECET2 145:365

  1. Marilyn

    Brian, your experience with coworkers at your school not being excited or even interested is oh too common. I feel the same way. I want to be excited!!! I want to be invigorated!!! We may have a small PLN, but it is a PLN. Let’s make it great and inspire, push, and challenge each other to make a difference . . . for our students.

Leave a Reply

