The Wall 149:365

Standard

No I am not talking about Pink Floyd’s album…

I am talking about what seemingly happens to us all.  We push.  We push ourselves to do more, to be better for our kids, our staffs, and our schools.  We stretch our selves to the limits to try and learn more.  I have stretched to that limit over the past few weeks.  I know I am not the only one, because I have seen friends stressed or complaining about exhaustion.  I have seen even more friends deciding to take a step back from social media and focus on education within their walls.

I have always liked to think that I was invincible.  That I could just push through whatever I needed to and accomplish anything.  Growing up I was always one of those kids who actually believed I could do anything I wanted to do, I just didn’t know what I wanted to do.  Now that I know what I want to do, I am having a hard time surviving it all!

Thursday morning while listening to some messages from the PrincipalPLN voxer group.  They were talking about ways to take back some time for yourself and step back from the wall (my words not theirs). I will be honest, I am not sure how I do it. Even as I write this I realize I have so many things to work on and no time.  All I can come back to is something my friend Erin Stevenson shared (@mrsstevensonSS) who talked about filling your mug.  Yesterday I filled my mug by singing in my car, walking on the boardwalk with my daughter, and dancing with my class.  How did you fill yours?  How did you pull back from your wall?

Leave a Reply

