Saying Goodbye…

Standard

Dear Weymouth Family,

 

This is to all of you.  It includes the staff with whom I have shared many wonderful memories, the families with whom I have laughed, cried, and worried, and most of all, my kids.  Brace yourselves, I am going to get sentimental…

I don’t know exactly how to say goodbye to something that has become such a part of who I am.  In life, just as in education, it is people that matter most.  Weymouth Township has been blessed with many good people.  Having been able to spend such a long period of my life with many of them is something I will cherish.  Over the past few days I have tried to look forward with excitement on my new adventure, but in doing so, I am consistently reminded of the people I am leaving behind.

I will be working in a larger school, with different kids, and different families.  I think about the kids with whom I have shared so much of myself.  I dwell upon those kids whose anxieties I take on, whose tragedies weigh upon me daily, and whose joy inspires me in way I could not hope to due justice.  I worry about my kids, what will they do?  Who will they turn to when the previously turned to me?  I can only take comfort in remembering that there are still good people there, people who work hard and care deeply about the kids and their families.

I also worry about the wonderful staff that I am leaving behind.  At Weymouth Township there are a number of remarkable people that work so hard.  Those people work harder with less than most could imagine.  They work with kids that continue to come to them having experienced more and more difficulties. They will continue to carry on as they always do, making the lives of their kids, my kids, better.

In the end, while I am excited about my new adventure, I am saddened by all of the unfinished stories that I am leaving behind.  I had hoped to have enough structure in place to have my work run without me when I wasn’t there, it may not.  I will miss the kids most of all.  You have all inspired me and taught me so many amazing things that no matter where I go, you will always be with me.  Any time any of you need anything (this goes for kids, staff, or families), find me and I will do what I can.  You have given me so much, I hope I have given some of that back over the years in return.

As I have told many of you many times before: you have the ability to great things, so go do something awesome.

 

Thank you,

Brian Costello

3 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye…

  1. Brian, in reading your words, I feel that even if the structures aren’t in place to keep things going the way you’d like, you’ve obviously touched many lives and what you’ve done will move forward in ways you can’t imagine. Good luck in your new school!

Leave a Reply

